Three out of four car seats are installed incorrectly. Protect your children by ensuring they are riding in properly secured and age-appropriate car seat.

Renown Children’s Hospital Car Seat Station is staffed by certified technicians who provide child vehicle safety restraint education, inspection and installation.

The Station has a new location at 1095 E. 2nd Street that features an installation bay and education room for expecting families.

Nevada Requirements

Nevada state law requires those children less than 6 years of age and weighing 60 pounds or less to be secured in an appropriate child restraint system while being transported in a motor vehicle.

Make a Car Seat Fitting Station Appointment

When calling for the appointment, please be prepared to provide the following information:

  • Number of car seats to be installed
  • Age, weight & height of each child for whom a car seat is being installed
  • Expectant parents should make an appointment at least two weeks prior to your due date

Car-Seat-Safety

If your child is advancing to a larger seat or if you have purchased a new car seat, please call for an appointment as soon as possible.


Make an Appointment

Appointments are available Monday – Friday except holidays between 8:00am – 11:00am and 12:30pm – 4:30pm

June 2018 schedule
No appointments available Monday – Friday weeks of June 11 -15 and June 18-22
Extended hours Monday, June 4, Wednesday, June 6 and Thursday, June 7 until 6:00 pm
Saturday and Sunday appointments available June 16 and Jun 17, 2018

The Car Seat Safety Station Address is:
1095 E. 2nd Street
Reno, NV 89502

Appointments last approximately 30 minutes.

Please call 775-982-2620

 

 

Frequently Asked Questions

What should I bring to my appointment?

  • The vehicle your child will be riding in.
  • Your child’s car seat, any accessories and attachments that came with it

*Please note: we do not install car seats that are expired or more than 5-years past the manufacturer date, if no expiration date is visible.

  • The manufacturer’s instructions and/or manual.
  • Your vehicle owner’s manual.
  • Car seat registration card, if you have not already sent it in.

Why?  This enables you to be contacted in the event the car seat is recalled.

  • Your child or children who will be riding in the seat(s).

If not possible, please bring each child’s age, height and weight so that the seats can be positioned correctly.

What is the fee for this service?
There is a $25.00 fee for inspection and installation services.  If you have more than one child, the fee for each additional seat installation or inspection during the same visit  is $15.

For income-eligible families, we offer a reduced fee of $10. You must provide proof of income, eligibility or a referral from a public assistance agency such as WIC, Medicaid in order to receive the reduced rate.

More Car Seat Safety Information

SAFE KIDS Worldwide and our local coalition, SAFE KIDS Washoe County work towards creating a safer environment for children.

Children learn from adult role models. Always wear your own safety belt correctly every time you are in a car and enforce vehicle safety rules to passengers of all ages.

View The Ultimate Car Seat Guide

Car-Seat-Safety2